en
Sakhalin-2020

Sakhalin-2020

The World Para Alpine Skiing World Cup is a grandiose sports event that starts in Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk from 9 to 21 February, 2020 and is held under the patronage of the International Paralympic Committee and the Russian Paralympic Committee. Among the athletes of the World Cup are about 40 athletes from 10 countries. All of them are participants, winners and champions of the Paralympic Games.

This is one of the largest competitions for the disabled athletes. It’s the second-largest competition after the Paralympic Games and the World Championship. Last time the event was held in Russia in Sochi-2013. Now Sakhalin got chosen as the venue for large-scale starts, as a region with excellent ski infrastructure that allows holding world-class competitions.

This is the largest sports application in the history of the region. Earlier, the slopes of Gorny Vozdukh Sports and Tourist Resort - the most dynamically developing ski resort in the Far East – were the place where the national teams trained before the Olympics and Paralympics in Pyeongchang. The island region has already hosted the Far East Cup and Russian Championships in alpine skiing. Now Sakhalin is ready to hold the largest race among Paralympics.

Athletes will demonstrate mastery in five disciplines: Giant Slalom, Slalom, Super-G, Parallel Event and Downhill.

The main aims of the event are strengthening of friendship between countries, increasing sportsmanship and developing and promotion of adaptive physical education and sports.

САХАЛИН-2020

Этап Кубка мира по Всемирному Паралимпийскому горнолыжному спорту – грандиозное спортивное событие, которое будет проходить с 9 по 21 февраля 2020 года в городе Южно-Сахалинске под патронатом Международного паралимпийского комитета и Паралимпийского комитета России. В состязаниях померятся силами около 40 спортсменов из 10 стран мира. Все они – участники, призёры и победители Паралимпийских игр.

Это одно из крупнейших соревнований для инвалидов. По масштабу оно уступает лишь Паралимпийским играм и чемпионату мира. Последний раз мероприятие проводилось в России в 2013 году в Сочи. Теперь местом проведения масштабных стартов выбран Сахалин, как регион, обладающий отличной горнолыжной инфраструктурой, позволяющей проводить соревнования мирового уровня.  

Для Сахалинской области это самая крупная спортивная заявка. Ранее на склонах спортивно-туристического комплекса «Горный воздух» - самого динамично развивающегося горнолыжного курорта Дальнего Востока - проходили подготовку сборные команды страны перед Олимпиадой и Паралимпиадой в Пхёнчхане. Островной регион принимал у себя Кубок Азии, чемпионаты и первенства России по горнолыжному спорту. Теперь готов провести крупнейшие гонки среди паралимпийцев.

Спортсмены продемонстрируют мастерство в дисциплинах слалом-гигант, слалом, супергигант, параллельный слалом и скоростной спуск.

Основными задачами мероприятия являются укрепление дружбы между странами, повышение спортивного мастерства, развитие и пропаганда адаптивной физической культуры и спорта.